#### § 174.105

- (d) Determines the cause of casualties and accidents reported based on information available and indicates the apparent cause on the casualty report or on an attached page;
- (e) Notifies the Coast Guard, in writing, when a problem area in boating safety peculiar to the State is determined, together, with corrective measures instituted or recommended; and
- (f) Reports on vessel numbering and vessel casualties and accidents as required in Subpart D of this part.

(46 U.S.C. 1486; 49 CFR 1.46(n)(1))

[CGD 72-54R, 37 FR 21402, Oct. 7, 1972, as amended by CGD 76-155, 44 FR 5309, Mar. 25, 1979]

## §174.105 Owner or operator casualty reporting requirements.

A State casualty reporting system must contain the following requirements of Part 173 applicable to an owner or a person operating a vessel:

- (a) Section 173.55 Report of casualty or accident.
- (b) Section 173.57 Casualty or accident report.
  - (c) Section 173.59 Where to report.

(46 U.S.C. 1451, 1467, 1488; 49 CFR 1.46 (n)(1)) [CGD 77-117, 44 FR 42195, July 19, 1979]

## § 174.106 State casualty reporting system optional sections.

In addition to the requirements in §174.105, a State casualty reporting system may contain any of the other requirements applicable to a vessel owner or operator prescribed in Part 173

(46 U.S.C. 1451, 1467, 1488; 49 CFR 1.46 (n)(1))

[CGD 77-117, 44 FR 42195, July 19, 1979, as amended by USCG-1999-5832, 64 FR 34715, June 29, 1999]

## § 174.107 Contents of casualty or accident report form.

Each form for reporting a vessel casualty or accident must contain the information required in §173.57 of this chapter.

### Subpart D—State Reports

## § 174.121 Forwarding of casualty or accident reports.

Within 30 days of the receipt of a casualty or accident report, each State that has an approved numbering system must forward a copy of that report to the Commandant (G-OPB), U.S. Coast Guard, 2100 Second Street, SW., Washington, DC 20593-0001.

 $[USCG-1998-3799,\,63\;FR\;35533,\,June\;30,\,1998,\,as$  amended by  $USCG-2004-18057,\;69\;FR\;34926,\,June\;23,\,2004]$ 

### § 174.123 Annual report of numbered vessels.

Before March 1 of each year, each State that has an approved numbering system must prepare and submit Coast Guard Form CGHQ-3923, Report of Certificates of Number Issued to Boats, to the Coast Guard.

### §174.125 Coast Guard address.

The report required by \$174.123 must be sent to the Office of Boating Safety, 2100 Second Street SW., Washington, DC 20593-0001.

[CGD 88-052, 53 FR 25122, July 1, 1988, as amended by CGD 96-026, 61 FR 33669, June 28, 1996]

# PART 175—EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS

### Subpart A—General

Sec.

175.1 Applicability.

175.3 Definitions.

175.5 Exemption from preemption.

### Subpart B—Personal Flotation Devices

175.11 Applicability.

175.13 Definitions.

175.15 Personal flotation devices required.

175.17 Exemptions.

175.19 Stowage.

175.21 Condition; size and fit; approval marking.

175.23 Serviceable conditions.

175.25 Enforcement of State requirements for children to wear personal flotation devices.

### Subpart C—Visual Distress Signals

175.101 Applicability.

175.105 Definitions.

175.110 Visual distress signals required.