Fishery Conservation and Management

(1) Interfere with fishing or obstruct
or damage fishing gear or the fishing
vessel of another, as specified in
§6564.25(a).

(m) Make any false statement, oral
or written, to an authorized officer
concerning the taking, catching, har-
vesting, landing, purchase, sale, posses-
sion, or transfer of stone crab.

(n) Interfere with, obstruct, delay, or
prevent by any means an investigation,
search, seizure, or disposition of seized
property in connection with enforce-
ment of the Magnuson-Stevens Act.

(o) Fish for any species or anchor a
fishing vessel in a marine reserve as
specified in §654.28.

(p) Except for a person who is in com-
pliance with the FFWCC stone crab
trap limitation program, possess or use
a stone crab trap, possess more than 1
gallon (4.5 L) of stone crab claws, or
sell stone crab claws in or from the
management area without a commer-
cial vessel permit as specified in
§654.4(a).

(q) Falsify information on an applica-
tion for a commercial vessel permit or
submitted in support of such applica-
tion as specified in §654.4(a)(1) or (2).

[60 FR 13919, Mar. 15, 1995, as amended at 67

FR 47469, July 19, 2002; 67 FR 61993, Oct. 3,
2002]

§654.8 Facilitation of enforcement.
See §600.730 of this chapter.
[67 FR 61993, Oct. 3, 2002]

§654.9 Penalties.
See §600.735 of this chapter.
[67 FR 61993, Oct. 3, 2002]

Subpart B—Management
Measures

§654.20 Seasons.

(a) Closed season. No person may pos-
sess a stone crab in the management
area from 12:01 a.m., local time, May
16, through 12 p.m. midnight, local
time, October 14, each year. Holding a
stone crab in a trap in the water during
a soak period or during a removal pe-
riod (see paragraph (b) of this section),
or during any extension thereto, is not
deemed possession, provided that, if
the trap is removed from the water

§654.20

during such period, such crab is re-
turned immediately to the water with
its claws unharvested.

(b) Placement of traps—(1) Prior to the
fishing seasonm. The period of October 5
through October 14 is established as a
trap soak period. A stone crab trap
may be placed in the management area
not earlier than 1 hour before sunrise
on October 5.

(2) After the fishing season. The period
of May 16 through May 20 is established
as a trap removal period. A stone crab
trap must be removed from the man-
agement area not later than 1 hour
after sunset on May 20, unless an ex-
tension to the removal period is grant-
ed under paragraph (b)(2)(i) of this sec-
tion and the extension authorization is
carried aboard the fishing vessel as
specified in paragraph (b)(2)(ii) of this
section.

(i) An extension of the removal pe-
riod may be granted by Florida in ac-
cordance with Rule 46-13.002(2)(b), Flor-
ida Administrative Code, in effect as of
April 14, 1995. This incorporation by
reference was approved by the Director
of the Office of the Federal Register in
accordance with 5 U.S.C. 552(a) and 1
CFR part 51. Copies may be obtained
from the Florida Marine Fisheries
Commission, 25640 Executive Center Cir-
cle West, Suite 106, Tallahassee, FL
32301; telephone: 904-487-0554. Copies
may be inspected at the office of the
Regional Administrator, or at the Na-
tional Archives and Records Adminis-
tration (NARA). For information on
the availability of this material at
NARA, call 202-741-6030, or go to: http:/
www.archives.gov/federal register/
code of federal regulations/
ibr locations.html.

(ii) The extension authorization must
be carried aboard the fishing vessel.
The operator of a fishing vessel must
present the authorization for inspec-
tion upon request of an authorized offi-
cer.

(c) Possession of stone crab traps. A
stone crab trap may not be possessed in
the management area from the end of
the trap removal period, or an exten-
sion thereto, to the beginning of the
trap soak period, as specified in para-
graph (b) of this section. A stone crab
trap, float, or rope in the management
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