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(ii) A person swimming, wading, fish-
ing from shore or floating with the aid 
of a flotation device; 

(iii) A designated launch site; or 
(iv) A manually propelled, anchored 

or drifting vessel. If the park is located 
within a State specifying different con-
ditions, then that State law is adopted 
in lieu of this paragraph. 

(5) Unless a designated area is 
marked otherwise, operating a power- 
driven or sailing vessel within 500 feet 
of a shoreline designated as a swim-
ming beach. This prohibition does not 
apply in locations such as a river, 
channel, or narrow cove where passage 
is restricted to less than 500 feet. In 
such restrictive locations where swim 
beaches are designated, the operation 
of a vessel in excess of a flat wake 
speed is prohibited. 

(6) Operating a power-driven vessel 
while a person is riding on the decking 
over the bow, gunwales, top edge of the 
transom, motor cover, or in any other 
unsafe position when the vessel is 
being operated. This provision does not 
apply when that portion of the vessel is 
designed and constructed for the pur-
pose of carrying passengers safely at 
all speeds or when the vessel is maneu-
vering for anchoring, docking or moor-
ing. 

(7) Operating a power driven vessel 
engine/s or generator with a person sit-
ting, riding or hanging on to a swim 
platform or swim ladder. 

(8) Operating a vessel, or knowingly 
allowing another person to operate a 
vessel in a negligent manner, by failing 
to exercise that degree of care which a 
reasonable person, under like cir-
cumstances, would demonstrate in 
order to prevent the endangering of the 
life, limb, or property of a person(s) 
through the operator’s lack of knowl-
edge, inattention, or general careless-
ness. 

(9) Operating a vessel or knowingly 
allowing another person to operate a 
vessel in a grossly negligent manner, 
by willfully and wantonly creating an 
unreasonable risk of harm to person(s) 
or property, regardless of whether the 
operator intended to cause harm. 

§ 3.9 May I operate my personal 
watercraft (PWC) in park waters? 

(a) A person may operate a PWC only 
in park areas where authorized by spe-
cial regulation. Special regulations 
may only be promulgated in the 21 
parks listed in the following table: 

Name Water type State 

Amistad National Recreation 
Area.

Impounded Lake TX 

Assateague Island National 
Seashore.

Open Ocean/Bay MD/VA 

Bighorn Canyon National 
Recreation Area.

Impounded Lake MT 

Big Thicket National Preserve .. River ................... TX 
Cape Cod National Seashore ... Open Ocean/Bay MA 
Cape Lookout National Sea-

shore.
Open Ocean/Bay NC 

Chickasaw National Recreation 
Area.

Impounded Lake OK 

Cumberland Island National 
Seashore.

Open Ocean/Bay GA 

Curecanti National Recreation 
Area.

Impounded Lake CO 

Delaware Water Gap ................ River ................... PA/NJ 
Fire Island National Seashore .. Open Ocean/Bay NY 
Gateway National Recreation 

Area.
Open Ocean/Bay NY 

Glen Canyon National Recre-
ation Area.

Impounded Lake AZ/UT 

Gulf Islands National Seashore Open Ocean/Bay FL/MS 
Indiana Dunes National Lake-

shore.
Natural Lake ....... IN 

Lake Mead National Recreation 
Area.

Impounded Lake AZ/NV 

Lake Meredith National Recre-
ation Area.

Impounded Lake TX 

Lake Roosevelt National Recre-
ation Area.

Impounded Lake WA 

Padre Island National Seashore Open Ocean/Bay TX 
Pictured Rocks National Lake-

shore.
Natural Lake ....... MI 

Whiskeytown-Shasta-Trinity Na-
tional Recreation Area.

Impounded Lake CA 

(b) Where authorized, operation of a 
PWC on park waters is subject to the 
following conditions: 

(1) No person may operate a PWC un-
less each person aboard is wearing a 
Type I, II, III, or V PFD approved by 
the United States Coast Guard. 

(2) A person operating a PWC 
equipped by the manufacturer with a 
lanyard-type engine cut-off switch 
must attach such lanyard to his per-
son, clothing, or PFD, as appropriate 
for the specific vessel. 

(3) No person may operate a PWC 
anytime between sunset and sunrise. 

(4) No person may operate a PWC by 
jumping the wake, becoming partially 
airborne or completely leaving the 
water while crossing the wake of an-
other vessel within 100 feet of the ves-
sel creating the wake. 
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(5) If a park area is located within a 
State that has more restrictive regula-
tions for the operation of PWC, then 
applicable State law applies in lieu of 
paragraphs (b)(1) through (b)(4) of this 
section. 

§ 3.10 What are the regulations regard-
ing operating a vessel while under 
the influence of alcohol and/or 
drugs? 

(a) Operating or being in actual phys-
ical control of a vessel is prohibited 
while: 

(1) Under the influence of alcohol, a 
drug or drugs, or any combination 
thereof, to a degree that renders the 
operator incapable of safe operation; or 

(2) The alcohol concentration in the 
operator’s blood or breath is 0.08 grams 
or more of alcohol per 100 milliliters of 
blood or 0.08 grams or more of alcohol 
per 210 liters of breath. 

(b) If State law that applies to oper-
ating a vessel while under the influence 
of alcohol establishes more restrictive 
limits of alcohol concentration in the 
operator’s blood or breath, those limits 
apply rather than the limits specified 
in paragraph (a) of this section. 

(c) The provisions of this section also 
apply to an operator who is or has been 
legally entitled to use alcohol or drugs. 

§ 3.11 When is testing for alcohol or 
drugs required? 

(a) At the request or direction of an 
authorized person who has probable 
cause to believe that an operator of a 
vessel has violated provisions of § 3.10, 
the operator must submit to one or 
more testing procedures of the blood, 
breath, saliva or urine for the purpose 
of determining blood alcohol and/or 
drug content. 

(1) Refusal by an operator to submit 
to a test is prohibited and proof of re-
fusal may be admissible in any related 
judicial proceeding. 

(2) Any test or tests for the presence 
of alcohol and drugs must be deter-
mined by and administered at the di-
rection of an authorized person. 

(3) Any test must be conducted by 
using accepted scientific methods and 
equipment of proven accuracy and reli-
ability operated by personnel certified 
in its use. 

(b) The results of chemical or other 
quantitative tests are intended to sup-
plement the elements of probable cause 
used as the basis for the arrest of an 
operator charged with a violation of 
§ 13.10. If the alcohol concentration in 
the operator’s blood or breath at the 
time of testing is less than alcohol con-
centrations specified in § 13.10(a)(2), 
this fact does not give rise to any pre-
sumption that the operator is or is not 
under the influence of alcohol. 

(c) The provisions of paragraph (b) of 
this section are not intended to limit 
the introduction of any other com-
petent evidence bearing upon the ques-
tion of whether the operator, at the 
time of the alleged violation, was 
under the influence of alcohol, or a 
drug, or drugs, or any combination 
thereof. 

§ 3.12 May I use a vessel to tow a per-
son for water skiing or other simi-
lar activities? 

(a) The towing of a person by a vessel 
is allowed only in designated waters, 
and in accordance with conditions es-
tablished by the superintendent under 
§§ 1.5 and 1.7 of this chapter. 

(b) Towing a person using a parasail, 
hang-glider or other airborne device 
may be allowed only in accordance 
with a permit issued by the super-
intendent under § 1.6 of this chapter. 

(c) Where towing is designated, the 
following conditions apply: 

(1) Towing is allowed only between 
the hours of sunrise and sunset. 

(2) In addition to the boat operator, a 
person at least 12 years of age must be 
present to observe the action of the 
person being towed. 

(3) A person being towed must wear a 
United States Coast Guard approved 
Type I, II, III, or V PFD. 

(4) A person being towed may not 
commit any act in a manner that en-
dangers, or is likely to endanger, any 
person or damage property. 

(5) Operating a vessel that does not 
have the capacity to carry the per-
son(s) being towed in addition to the 
operator and observer is prohibited. 

(6) No person shall operate a power 
driven vessel using a tow rope 20 feet or 
less in length when towing a person. 
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