Environmental Protection Agency

§66.54 Procedures for hearing.

(a) Hearings granted under §66.53
shall be held as provided in subpart J.

(b) The Presiding Officer at a hearing
granted under §66.53 shall issue an ini-
tial decision within ninety days after
the Administrator grants the hearing,
unless the duration of the hearing or
the deadline for decision is extended by
the Presiding Officer upon agreement
of the parties. Failure to issue a deci-
sion (whether or not by consent) within
90 days shall not affect the validity of
the proceedings or the accrual of pen-
alties in any manner.

Subpart G—Payment

§66.61 Duty to pay.

(a) Except where the owner or oper-
ator has submitted a petition pursuant
to §66.13(a)(2), the first installment of
the penalty shall be paid on the date
six months after receipt of the notice
of noncompliance.

(b) Where the source owner has filed
a petition pursuant to §66.13(a)(2), the
first installment consisting of payment
of penalties for all quarters ‘‘missed”
as well as for the upcoming quarter
shall be paid on the date six months
after a final administrative decision af-
firming the source owner or operator’s
liability. Installments shall be paid
quarterly thereafter until compliance
is achieved. Quarters shall be measured
in increments of three calendar months
from the date the first payment is due.

(c) A source owner or operator who
submits a petition pursuant to §66.52
shall pay the penalty amount cal-
culated by the owner or operator under
§66.13 or §66.43 or any penalty cal-
culated by EPA where the owner or op-
erator has failed to calculate such pen-
alty. Within 45 days after EPA has no-
tified the owner or operator of a final
administrative action after hearings on
such petition, the owner or operator
shall submit any necessary modifica-
tion to the penalty. The revised pen-
alty will be calculated in accordance
with the Technical Support Document
and the Manual, and a revised sched-
ule, including appropriate adjustments
for overpayments or underpayments
made, will be established.

§66.71

§66.62 Method of payment.

Payments in excess of $10,000 under
this part shall be made by wire transfer
payable to the U.S. Treasury. Pay-
ments under this part which are less
than $10,000 shall be made by cashier’s
or certified check made payable to the
United States Treasury, sent by reg-
istered mail, return receipt requested,
and addressed to the Administrator,
Environmental Protection Agency, 1200
Pennsylvania Ave., NW., Washington,
DC 20460. Payment by check is made on
the due date if it is postmarked on or
before the due date. Payment by wire
transfer is made on the due date if the
Treasury’s account is credited on or be-
fore the due date.

§66.63 Nonpayment penalty.

(a) Any source owner or operator who
fails to make timely payment under
§66.61 shall pay in addition to the pen-
alty owed a quarterly nonpayment pen-
alty. The nonpayment penalty shall be
calculated as of the due date of the
noncompliance penalty payment and
shall be equal to 20 percent of the ag-
gregate amount of the noncompliance
penalties and nonpayment penalties
due and owing from the owner or oper-
ator on the due date. Partial payments
shall be credited first against the non-
payment penalty, then against the
noncompliance penalty.

(b) The Administrator shall notify
the source owner or operator in writing
of the amount of any nonpayment pen-
alty for which the owner or operator is
liable. Failure of the Administrator to
provide such notice immediately shall
not affect the legal obligation of the
source owner or operator to pay such
penalty. Such nonpayment penalty, as
well as the past due noncompliance
penalty, shall be payable immediately.

Subpart H—Compliance and Final
Adjustment

§66.71 Determination of compliance.

(a) An owner or operator of a source
who is paying a noncompliance penalty
under this part shall notify the Admin-
istrator in writing when he believes
that the source has come into and is
maintaining compliance with all appli-
cable legal requirements. The notice
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§66.72

shall be accompanied by any factual
data, analytical materials, and legal
arguments which the source owner or
operator believes support such claim.

(b) Within 30 days of receipt of a
source owner’s submittal, the Adminis-
trator shall determine whether the
source has achieved and is maintaining
compliance with applicable legal re-
quirements, and shall notify the source
owner or operator of this determina-
tion in writing. If the Administrator is
unable to conclude, on the basis of the
information submitted, whether the
source has achieved and is maintaining
compliance with applicable legal re-
quirements, he shall inform the owner
or operator of any additional material
that is needed. Within 30 days of re-
ceipt of such additional material, the
Administrator shall determine whether
the source has achieved and is main-
taining compliance, and shall notify
the source owner or operator of this de-
termination in writing.

(c) If the Administrator determines
that the source has not achieved or is
not maintaining compliance with ap-
plicable legal requirements, the source
owner or operator may petition for re-
consideration within 30 days of receipt
of the determination. The source owner
or operator shall include in this peti-
tion any necessary supporting mate-
rial. Issues not raised in the petition
will be deemed waived. The procedures
of §66.41 shall be followed upon the re-
ceipt of such petition.

(d) In the event that the applicable
legal requirement (as defined in
§66.3(c)) the violation of which forms
the basis for the penalty is superseded
by another applicable legal require-
ment (as defined in §66.3(c)) the owner
or operator of a source liable for a non-
compliance penalty under this part
shall notify the Administrator in writ-
ing that the owner or operator believes
that the applicable legal requirement
is superseded and that the period of
noncompliance covered by the notice of
noncompliance is ended. The notice
shall be accompanied by the legal argu-
ments which the source owner or oper-
ator believes support such a claim.
Within 30 days of receipt of a source
owner or operator’s notice, the Admin-
istrator shall determine whether the
period of covered noncompliance is
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ended and shall notify the source
owner or operator of this determina-
tion in writing. In cases where the su-
perseding EPA-approved requirement
was not approved by EPA within the
time period required by statute, the pe-
riod of covered noncompliance shall be
deemed to have ended on the date when
EPA under the statute should have
acted.

[45 FR 50110, July 20, 1980, as amended at 50
FR 36734, Sept. 9, 1985]

§66.72 Additional payment or reim-
bursement.

(a) Within 120 days after the source
owner or operator receives notification
pursuant to §66.71(b) that it has
achieved and is maintaining compli-
ance with applicable legal require-
ments, or within 120 days after receipt
of a decision to that effect upon peti-
tion and hearing, or within 120 days
after receipt of a decision to that effect
upon an appeal to the Environmental
Appeals Board, the source owner or op-
erator shall submit to the Adminis-
trator a revised penalty calculation as
provided in the Technical Support Doc-
ument and the Manual, together with
data necessary for verification. The re-
vised calculation shall include interest
on any underpayment.

(b) Within thirty days after receiving
a revised penalty calculation provided
pursuant to paragraph (a) of this sec-
tion, the Administrator shall inform
the source owner or operator in writing
that:

(1) The revised penalty is correct as
calculated;

(2) The revised penalty is incorrect
and has been recalculated based on the
data provided by the source owner or
operator or on other data. The Admin-
istrator shall provide to the source
owner or operator a brief statement of
the basis of the recalculation and shall
identify when and where any sup-
porting data may be examined. The Ad-
ministrator shall also notify the source
owner or operator of the right to peti-
tion for reconsideration under §66.73;
or

(3) The source owner or operator has
not submitted any penalty calculation,
or has not submitted enough material
to enable EPA to verify the penalty
calculation. The Administrator shall
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